HC SQUARED:  It's the Best Game in Town

Replay Review: 2018

Oswego East and Willowbrook were added to the tournament, giving the sixteen-team field representation from 15 different conferences.  Coming into the tournament, nine different teams were ranked in the Chicagoland area.  In a battle between two teams that were both in the rankings, Willowbrook out pointed Richards 66-61 as Everett Stubbefield and Matas Masys combined for 48 points for the winners.  Marian Catholic lived up to their lofty expectations by defeating Glenbrook North 67-47, and shot 64% from the field.  Mark Musial's three-pointer with 20 seconds remaining lifted Saint Charles East past Stevenson 51-48.  And top-seed DePaul Prep had little trouble with Urban Prep Englewood in their 60-29 victory.

In a game that featured 15 lead changes and eight ties, Saint Rita outlasted Rockford Auburn 54-52.  The Mustangs won their fifth game in five attempts in tournament and history and the Knights were dealt their first-ever first round loss.  Ray J Dennis and Kamron Battle combined for 52 points in Oswego East's 89-71 victory over Westinghouse.  Devin Davis added 30 points for the Warriors.  Homewood-Flossmoor lead wire-to-wire in their 52-40 win over Hinsdale Central, limiting the Red Devils to only 29% shooting from the floor.  And in the second game of the opening round which featured a match up of two ranked teams, Lincoln Park held off a fourth quarter rally by Maine South to win 46-43. 

In Day Two action, Richards, Stevenson, Rockford Auburn and Hinsdale Central recorded second round consolation bracket victories.  Marian Catholic advanced to the semifinals by defeating Willowbrook 58-54, and shot 53% from the floor.  DePaul Prep outscored Saint Charles East 30-19 in the second half to advanced to the Final Four for the third straight year.  Lance Moseley tallied 21 points, including 5-of-6 shooting from three-point range, for the Rams.    Oswego secured a semifinal spot by ousting Saint Rita 66-55.  It was the Mustangs first loss in two years at HCHC.  Homewood-Flossmoor defeated Lincoln Park 34-33 in the last quarterfinal, as the Vikings outscored the Lions 22-10 in the paint.

Stevenson and Hinsdale Central both recorded consolation bracket victories and advanced to a title game on the left side of the bracket.  Yemi Eitulo tipped home the game winner (his only points of the game) before time expired to lead Marian Catholic to a 44-42 semifinal victory over DePaul Prep.  The Rams opened up a 31-23 lead in the third quarter, but Marian went on a 10-0 run to give the Spartans a 42-37 lead with two minutes remaining.  Lance Moseley hit a 3-pointer and Perry Cowan added a jumper to tie the game with 40 seconds left, before Marian held for the last shot.  Marian advanced to their first championship game in HCHC tournament history.  Isaac Stanback had a double-double with 23 points and 15 rebounds, as Homewood-Flossmoor advanced past Oswego East 69-55 in semifinal #2.  The Vikings scored the first eight points of the game and never trailed.  Oswego's Ray J Dennis, who scored 57 points in his first two games, was held scoreless in the first half.  Homewood-Flossmoor would be making their third appearance in the championship game of the Hinsdale Central Holiday Classic over the past four years.

Stevenson took a 15-5 first quarter advantage on its way to a 60-37 Consolation Championship victory over host Hinsdale Central.  The Patriots shot 61% from the floor in the win.  Saint Rita used a 10-0 fourth quarter run to pull away from Saint Charles East and earn a 49-36 victory in the Fifth Place Game.  The Mustangs, who have won 7 of their 8 games played at the HCHC, were led by Joel Watts who tallied 13 points.  Oswego East took home the third place trophy in their first ever showing at HCHC, and upended DePaul Prep 58-55 in double overtime.  Ray J Dennis scored 24 points in the contest and established the all-time single-season tournament scoring record with 98 points over four games.  DePaul's Perry Cowan finished his HCHC career with 16 points.  Cowan, who played in 16 HCHC tournament games over the past four years, was named to his third straight All-Tournament Team.  DePaul Prep finished in fourth place for the third straight year.

In a rematch of a game held earlier in the year, Marian Catholic captured their first HCHC crown, by defeating Homewood-Flossmoor 52-45 in the championship game.  Marian built a two-point halftime advantage and then went on a 11-0 run in the third quarter to break open the deadlock.  The game featured defense around the basket,  as the teams combined for an all-time tournament record 24 blocked shots.  Tournament MVP Ahron Ulis lead the Spartans with 17 points.

Marian Catholic's Ahron Ulis and Christopher White; DePaul Prep's Perry Cowan; Oswego East's Ray J Dennis and Homewood-Flossmoor's Isaac Stanback were named to the first team of the All-Tourney squad. 


Ray J Dennis of Oswego East set the
tournament scoring record with 98 points.

De Paul Prep's Perry Cowan was named to
the All-Tournament Team for the fourth time

Marian Catholic's Ahron Ulis was 
the 2018 tournament MVP

Marian Catholic became the fourth champion in the first four years of the
Hinsdale Central Holiday Classic with their 2018 tourney title










   2022 TEAM INFO